Undated published reference
| Visitor and charging unit | Adult / eligible visitor | Child / eligible visitor |
|---|---|---|
| Foreign tourist Per person; entrance only Daily basis; the park does not state a rolling 24-hour entitlement · Current application unconfirmed | ETB 90 12 years and above | ETB 10 Under 12 years |
| Foreign resident tourist Per person; entrance only Daily basis; the park does not state a rolling 24-hour entitlement · Current application unconfirmed | ETB 50 12 years and above | ETB 10 Under 12 years |
| Ethiopian tourist Per person; entrance only Daily basis; the park does not state a rolling 24-hour entitlement · Current application unconfirmed | ETB 20 12 years and above | ETB 10 Under 12 years |
Source: Ethiopian Wildlife Conservation Authority / Simien Mountains National Park · checked 20 October 2026. Published references are not a live ticket quotation. Use the stated dates, visitor categories and charging units; confirm the final payable charges for your route.
- At the time of checking, FCDO advises against all travel to Amhara. Read the linked current regional advice before planning a Simien visit; a published fee does not establish safe or available access.
- Current application is unconfirmed. These are undated published references, not a verified operative 2026 tariff; confirm the latest payable schedule with the park before quotation.
- The tariff does not confirm present visitor access, route availability or safety. Check those arrangements separately.
- No currency conversion or complete trip total is implied by these entrance references.
- The entrance page states Birr without a validity window. Daily charging comes from the services page and must not be described as a rolling 24-hour permit. The unknown turnover-tax rate prevents a final payable total.
- For more than 15 visitors, the scout image assigns more scouts in groups of five but does not give a complete extended tariff. The foreign-guide image for 31 or more visitors says an additional ETB 250 per visitor without a clear base; no total is extrapolated.
- An older legal basis or a recent webpage check does not establish that these published amounts are the operative 2026 tariff.
Who pays, and for how long
- EWCA requires every visitor to be accompanied by a licensed scout. The park manager additionally states that local guides and scouts are mandatory for all tourists.
- Visitors must personally sign the park-office registration book. The manager says payments are daily and non-refundable.
Activities, extras and inclusions
| Charge or activity | Published amount | Scope and inclusions |
|---|---|---|
| Vehicle entrance | Confirm with the authority | Separate from person entry; category depends on visitor status and vehicle seating. See the undated reference table. |
| Camping | Confirm with the authority | Separate per-tent charge; confirm the tent capacity and applicable period. |
| Guide, scout and trekking support | Confirm with the authority | Arrange and price these separately; they are not included in entrance. Confirm equipment, transport, mules and handlers where needed. |
Undated vehicle reference — ETB per vehicle per day
| Vehicle seating | Ethiopian tourist | Foreign resident tourist | Foreign tourist |
|---|---|---|---|
| Up to 12 seats | 10 | 15 | 20 |
| More than 12 seats | 15 | 30 | 40 |
Undated camping reference — ETB per tent per day
| Tent capacity | Ethiopian tourist | Foreign resident tourist | Foreign tourist |
|---|---|---|---|
| Up to 4 people | 10 | 30 | 40 |
| More than 4 people | 15 | 40 | 60 |
Undated student reference — entrance only
| Category | ETB | Age/period |
|---|---|---|
| Ethiopian student | 10 | Age not specified; daily basis |
Undated scout reference — ETB per group per day, turnover tax excluded
| Visitors | ETB | Staff |
|---|---|---|
| 1–5 | 800 | 1 scout |
| 6–10 | 1,400 | 2 scouts |
| 11–15 | 2,100 | 3 scouts |
Undated foreign-visitor guide reference — ETB per group per day, turnover tax excluded
| Visitors | ETB | Staff |
|---|---|---|
| 1–3 | 1,300 | 1 guide |
| 4–6 | 2,400 | 1 guide |
| 7–10 | 4,000 | 1 guide |
| 11–15 | 5,400 | 1 guide |
| 16–20 | 6,000 | 2 guides |
| 21–30 | 6,500 | 2 guides |
Undated local and resident guide reference — ETB per group per day, turnover tax excluded
| Visitors | Ethiopian visitors | Resident visitors with yellow/green card |
|---|---|---|
| 1–5 | 500 | 800 |
| 6–10 | 800 | 1,000 |
| 11 or more | 1,000 | 1,200 |
How to arrange payment
- Register personally at the park office. Ask the park for the current schedule and accepted payment channels; no official online ticket checkout was verified.
- The services page expressly excludes turnover tax but gives no rate. Obtain a tax-inclusive invoice rather than adding an assumed percentage.
Build it into your route
Entrance, vehicle entry, camping and support staff are separate budget lines. Group size changes scout and guide prices.
Confirm trekking duration, scouts, local guide, transport, camping equipment, cook, mules and handlers together before accepting a complete trekking price.
The undated support tables list ETB 800 per day for one scout with 1–5 visitors and ETB 1,300 per day for one foreign-visitor guide with 1–3 visitors, excluding turnover tax. These are group charges, additional to entry, and need current confirmation.
Explore Simien Mountains National Park. Compare Ethiopia park fees and the wider safari budget. Your written proposal confirms the actual inclusions.
Sources, dates and updates
Last checked: 20 October 2026. Published references are not a live ticket quotation. Use the stated dates, visitor categories and charging units; confirm the final payable charges for your route.
- Simien Mountains National Park: park fees. No tariff effective date or expiry stated. Undated published ETB reference. Retrieval in October 2026 and the copyright year do not establish current application. Daily basis is stated on the separate services page; no rolling 24-hour entitlement is inferred.
- EWCA: Simien Mountains National Park. Official visitor guidance; no tariff effective date stated. Lists a licensed scout as required and links to the park manager. Its entry-permit paragraph repeats seasonal text and is not a payment instruction.
- Simien Mountains National Park: other service fees. No effective date stated; tariff images use March 2025 upload paths. Park scouts and local guides are mandatory. The page says prices exclude turnover tax but gives no tax rate. Group service prices are distinct from entrance.
- FCDO Ethiopia regional travel advice. Travel advice at the time of checking; recheck before planning. The Amhara section advises against all travel to the region. This is travel advice, not a park tariff or access confirmation.

