Your Africa, beautifully told. Tailor-made East African journeys

Travel guide / Tanzania

Nyerere park fees

The published non-resident adult entry amount is TZS 178,850, per person for 24 hours, in TANAPA records dated 16 May 2026–14 March 2027. VAT treatment is unresolved. This covers TANAPA’s Nyerere park, not every Selous area. Retrieved non-resident and expatriate adult concessions expired on 30 September 2026.

In this guide
01 /

Published entry fees

Visitor and charging unitAdult / eligible visitorChild / eligible visitor
EAC citizen
Per person per 24 hours
Dated entry tariff
TZS 10,000 (≈ US$4)
16 years and above
1 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027
TZS 2,000 (≈ US$1)
5–15 years
1 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027
Expatriate
Per person per 24 hours
Dated entry tariff
TZS 89,425 (≈ US$34)
16 years and above
16 May 2026 to 14 Mar 2027
TZS 25,550 (≈ US$10)
5–15 years
1 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027
Non-resident
Per person per 24 hours
Dated entry tariff
TZS 178,850 (≈ US$68)
16 years and above
16 May 2026 to 14 Mar 2027
TZS 51,100 (≈ US$19)
5–15 years
1 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027

Source: TANAPA · checked 20 October 2026. Published references are not a live ticket quotation. Use the stated dates, visitor categories and charging units; confirm the final payable charges for your route.

Dollar figures are approximate, converted at the Bank of Tanzania mean rate of TZS 2,636.74 per US dollar on 23 October 2026. The authority charges the shilling amount.

  • The dated TANAPA records publish these TZS amounts without a tax field. The tariff webpage says fees include 18% VAT where applicable, but the linked 2023/24 booklet says charges exclude 18% VAT. Tax treatment for the dated records remains unresolved; obtain the authority’s tax breakdown before payment. These are source amounts, with no tax calculation or currency conversion.
  • The page header and linked booklet describe 2023/24, while individual live records carry later dates. Historical amounts, charging units and tax rules do not establish the current payable total.
  • The current API does not state charging units for extras. Historical camping, ranger and rescue units are not silently extended to current products.
02 /

Who pays, and for how long

  • The current official tariff page states conservation fees are valid for 24 hours from entry. Confirm re-entry and departure terms for the actual issued permit; the historic booklet is not sufficient to promise a current multiple-entry entitlement.
  • Adult is 16 years and above; the live child products cover ages 5–15. The current page states children under five enter free.
  • The published page requires EAC citizenship evidence and a valid residence or work permit for the expatriate category. Citizenship and residency are not interchangeable.
  • Adult non-resident and expatriate records end 14 March 2027; children and EAC adult records end 30 June 2027. Obtain a replacement tariff for later travel.
03 /

Activities, extras and inclusions

Charge or activityPublished amountScope and inclusions
Vehicle entryConfirm with the authorityThe live schedule has separate local/foreign and weight-based vehicle products.
Public campingConfirm with the authorityCurrent camping products exist, but their per-night unit is not stated in the live records. Obtain the applicable campsite quotation.
Overnight concessionConfirm with the authorityNyerere non-resident and expatriate adult concession records end 30 September 2026; no October replacement was found in the retrieved full schedule. EAC/resident adult and child records have separate validity to 30 June 2027. Confirm category, stay, unit and replacement tariff; the expired adult amount is not a current quote.
Ranger or guided activityConfirm with the authorityDo not infer activity availability or extend a historic group/day unit to a current product without confirmation.
04 /

What this means for your party

Two adults: TZS 357,700 (≈ US$136) for one entry period (Per person per 24 hours). Two adults and two children aged ten: TZS 459,900 (≈ US$174) for that same entry period.

Non-resident · Family example valid 1 Jul 2026 to 14 Mar 2027. Tax treatment must be confirmed. They exclude vehicle charges, accommodation, activities, transfers and any overnight or concession fee.

05 /

How to arrange payment

  • Follow the official TANAPA reservation and Government Electronic Payment Gateway (GePG) instructions. The tariff page describes cards, mobile money and operator bank-transfer routes.
  • Bring the identity and permit evidence for the selected visitor category. Confirm the reservation, payment reference and actual park permit before travel.
06 /

Build it into your route

Identify the park and authority for each camp and excursion. Confirm boat, walking and overnight charges against the selected Nyerere itinerary.

Ask for the actual entry, vehicle and overnight permit breakdown for your dates. A confirmation-required extra is neither zero nor included.

Explore Nyerere National Park. Compare Tanzania park fees and the wider safari budget. Your written proposal confirms the actual inclusions.

07 /

Sources, dates and updates

Last checked: 20 October 2026. Published references are not a live ticket quotation. Use the stated dates, visitor categories and charging units; confirm the final payable charges for your route.

  • TANAPA live dated tariff records. Each record has its own dates: seasonal adult entry records generally 16 May 2026–14 March 2027; annual records generally 1 July 2026–30 June 2027. Check the individual category and product. The dated records publish TZS amounts without a tax field. The webpage’s generic VAT-inclusive statement conflicts with the historical linked booklet’s VAT-exclusive statement; the dated records do not resolve this. Tax is unconfirmed, and no 18% addition or currency conversion is applied. The static header still refers to 2023/24.
  • TANAPA 2023/24 tariff booklet. 1 July 2023–30 June 2024; historical reference only. Used to identify historical age definitions and charging units, not to extend old USD rates into current or future dates. Its VAT-exclusive statement differs from the current page.
Bring it into the conversation

Bring your dates, route and travellers. We will help you understand the complete journey cost.

Add this idea to your brief

A few things worth knowing

Good questions.
Straight answers.

The details matter. Bring anything else into your planning conversation.

How much are Nyerere National Park fees?

TZS 178,850 (≈ US$68) · Non-resident · Per person per 24 hours · Dated entry tariff · 16 May 2026 to 14 Mar 2027. Check the visitor category, charging unit and dates in the table above.

Are children charged the same as adults?

Non-resident: TZS 51,100 (≈ US$19); 5–15 years. Adult is 16 years and above; the live child products cover ages 5–15. The current page states children under five enter free. Adult non-resident and expatriate records end 14 March 2027; children and EAC adult records end 30 June 2027. Obtain a replacement tariff for later travel.

What does the Nyerere National Park ticket cover?

The current official tariff page states conservation fees are valid for 24 hours from entry. Confirm re-entry and departure terms for the actual issued permit; the historic booklet is not sufficient to promise a current multiple-entry entitlement. The published page requires EAC citizenship evidence and a valid residence or work permit for the expatriate category. Citizenship and residency are not interchangeable.