Published entry fees
| Visitor and charging unit | Adult / eligible visitor | Child / eligible visitor |
|---|---|---|
| Non-East African Area entry; main page states single entry / 24 hours Safari Portal · confirmation required | USD 60 16 years and above | USD 20 5–15 in portal; main-page label unclear |
| Expatriate Area entry; main page states single entry / 24 hours Safari Portal · confirmation required | USD 30 16 years and above | USD 10 5–15 in portal; main-page label unclear |
| Tanzania / EAC Area entry; main page states single entry / 24 hours Safari Portal · confirmation required | TZS 10,000 (≈ US$4) 16 years and above | TZS 2,000 (≈ US$1) 5–15 in portal; main-page label unclear |
| Non-East African Area entry; main page states single entry / 24 hours Main tariff page · confirmation required | USD 70.80 16 years and above | USD 23.60 5–15 in portal; main-page label unclear |
| Expatriate Area entry; main page states single entry / 24 hours Main tariff page · confirmation required | USD 35.40 16 years and above | USD 11.80 5–15 in portal; main-page label unclear |
| Tanzania / EAC Area entry; main page states single entry / 24 hours Main tariff page · confirmation required | TZS 11,800 (≈ US$4) 16 years and above | TZS 2,360 (≈ US$1) 5–15 in portal; main-page label unclear |
Source: Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority (NCAA) · checked 20 October 2026. Published references are not a live ticket quotation. Use the stated dates, visitor categories and charging units; confirm the final payable charges for your route.
Dollar figures are approximate, converted at the Bank of Tanzania mean rate of TZS 2,636.74 per US dollar on 23 October 2026. The authority charges the shilling amount.
- Official-source conflict: the portal lists non-East-African adult entry at USD 60; the main tariff page lists USD 70.80. Their corresponding crater references are USD 250 and USD 295. These are different published references, not interchangeable confirmed prices.
- Neither checked NCAA tariff publication states an effective period or explicit VAT treatment. The numerical relationship does not establish whether tax explains the difference; no additional VAT is assumed.
- The examples below illustrate each published reference separately. They are not confirmation of a final invoice, fee entitlement or tax-inclusive total.
Who pays, and for how long
- The main authority tariff page describes single entry within 24 hours. The visitor guidelines also identify crater-service permits as single entry. Do not assume a multiple-entry entitlement.
- The Safari Portal clearly labels adult as 16 and above, children as 5–15 and under-five entry as free. The main-page child label is inconsistent; confirm the applicable child band.
- The main-site expatriate definition concerns people living or working in Tanzania with valid immigration status. Confirm which category and evidence apply to the party.
- A crater descent needs its own vehicle service arrangement and licensed guide. Area admission alone does not include the crater vehicle service.
Activities, extras and inclusions
| Charge or activity | Published amount | Scope and inclusions |
|---|---|---|
| Crater service: non-East African category / main tariff page | USD 295 · per vehicle per trip | Separate from area entry and ordinary vehicle access; confirmed final tariff required. |
| Crater service: non-EAC / expatriate portal product | USD 250 · unit not stated in portal | Portal amount conflicts with the main-site USD 295 reference. Do not treat either as a verified final payable total. |
| Crater service: Tanzania / EAC main tariff page | TZS 11,800 (≈ US$4) · per vehicle per trip | Portal counterpart displays TZS 10,000 without explaining the difference. |
| Vehicle entry, camping and concessions | Confirm with the authority | These are separate schedules; no combined amount is inferred from the conflicting sources. |
| Licensed guiding and authorised walks | Confirm with the authority | Crater visits require a licensed or official guide; authorised walks require an NCAA armed ranger. |
What this means for your party
Two adults: USD 120 for one entry period (Area entry; main page states single entry / 24 hours).
Non-East African · Safari Portal · confirmation required. Tax treatment must be confirmed. They exclude vehicle charges, accommodation, activities, transfers and any overnight or concession fee.
Two adults: USD 141.60 for one entry period (Area entry; main page states single entry / 24 hours).
Non-East African · Main tariff page · confirmation required. Tax treatment must be confirmed. They exclude vehicle charges, accommodation, activities, transfers and any overnight or concession fee.
How to arrange payment
- Use the official NCAA Safari Portal and authority instructions for the booking. Confirm the displayed final tariff, tax treatment, accepted payment method and visitor-document requirements.
- This guide has not verified a payment-at-gate entitlement. Obtain the correct reservation and permits before relying on a route or activity.
Build it into your route
A crater-rim stay, a highlands walk and a crater-floor drive are different arrangements. Ask which entry, overnight and activity lines your quotation actually includes.
For a northern circuit, keep Ngorongoro separate from TANAPA park admission. A Serengeti or Manyara permit does not establish Ngorongoro coverage.
Explore Ngorongoro Conservation Area. Compare Tanzania park fees and the wider safari budget. Your written proposal confirms the actual inclusions.
Sources, dates and updates
Last checked: 20 October 2026. Published references are not a live ticket quotation. Use the stated dates, visitor categories and charging units; confirm the final payable charges for your route.
- NCAA Safari Portal published tariffs. No effective period stated on checked publication. The portal and main authority tariff page publish different amounts. Tax treatment is not stated; confirm the final payable amount with NCAA.
- NCAA main-site tariff page. No effective period stated on checked publication. Displays higher amounts than the Safari Portal. Neither the difference nor its effective period is explained on the checked page; no tax conversion is assumed.
- NCAA visitor guidelines and procedures. Official guidelines checked 20 October 2026. Includes single-entry permit and crater guiding/vehicle rules. Confirm conditions for the actual booking.

