Published entry fees
| Visitor and charging unit | Adult / eligible visitor | Child / eligible visitor |
|---|---|---|
| EAC citizen Per person per 24 hours Dated entry tariff | TZS 10,000 (≈ US$4) 16 years and above 1 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027 | TZS 2,000 (≈ US$1) 5–15 years 1 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027 |
| Expatriate Per person per 24 hours Dated entry tariff | TZS 89,425 (≈ US$34) 16 years and above 1 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027 | TZS 25,550 (≈ US$10) 5–15 years 1 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027 |
| Non-resident Per person per 24 hours Dated entry tariff | TZS 178,850 (≈ US$68) 16 years and above 1 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027 | TZS 51,100 (≈ US$19) 5–15 years 1 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027 |
Source: TANAPA · checked 20 October 2026. Published references are not a live ticket quotation. Use the stated dates, visitor categories and charging units; confirm the final payable charges for your route.
Dollar figures are approximate, converted at the Bank of Tanzania mean rate of TZS 2,636.74 per US dollar on 23 October 2026. The authority charges the shilling amount.
- The dated TANAPA records publish these TZS amounts without a tax field. The tariff webpage says fees include 18% VAT where applicable, but the linked 2023/24 booklet says charges exclude 18% VAT. Tax treatment for the dated records remains unresolved; obtain the authority’s tax breakdown before payment. These are source amounts, with no tax calculation or currency conversion.
- The page header and linked booklet describe 2023/24, while individual live records carry later dates. Historical amounts, charging units and tax rules do not establish the current payable total.
- The current API does not state charging units for extras. Historical camping, ranger and rescue units are not silently extended to current products.
Who pays, and for how long
- The current official tariff page states conservation fees are valid for 24 hours from entry. Confirm re-entry and departure terms for the actual issued permit; the historic booklet is not sufficient to promise a current multiple-entry entitlement.
- Adult is 16 years and above; the live child products cover ages 5–15. The current page states children under five enter free.
- The published page requires EAC citizenship evidence and a valid residence or work permit for the expatriate category. Citizenship and residency are not interchangeable.
- The displayed adult and child entrance records are dated 1 July 2026–30 June 2027. Obtain a replacement tariff for later travel.
Activities, extras and inclusions
| Charge or activity | Published amount | Scope and inclusions |
|---|---|---|
| Vehicle entry | Confirm with the authority | The live schedule has separate local/foreign and weight-based vehicle products. |
| Ranger or guided activity | Confirm with the authority | Do not infer activity availability or extend a historic group/day unit to a current product without confirmation. |
| Huts — non-resident | TZS 153,300 (≈ US$58) · published product amount; charging unit requires confirmation | TANAPA record 11054, non-resident; age not stated in this live product, valid 1 July 2026–30 June 2027. The live record does not establish a per-night or per-trip unit, route applicability or tax treatment. Confirm these before using the amount in a climbing quote; do not add every listed product into one subtotal. |
| Public camping — non-resident adult | TZS 127,750 (≈ US$48) · published product amount; charging unit requires confirmation | TANAPA record 10474, non-resident adult, valid 1 July 2026–30 June 2027. The live record does not establish a per-night or per-trip unit, route applicability or tax treatment. Confirm these before using the amount in a climbing quote; do not add every listed product into one subtotal. |
| Upper Barafu camping — non-resident adult | TZS 255,500 (≈ US$97) · published product amount; charging unit requires confirmation | TANAPA record 10977, non-resident adult, valid 1 July 2026–30 June 2027. The live record does not establish a per-night or per-trip unit, route applicability or tax treatment. Confirm these before using the amount in a climbing quote; do not add every listed product into one subtotal. |
| Rescue — non-resident | TZS 51,100 (≈ US$19) · published product amount; charging unit requires confirmation | TANAPA record 9214, non-resident; age not stated in this live product, valid 1 July 2026–30 June 2027. The live record does not establish a per-night or per-trip unit, route applicability or tax treatment. Confirm these before using the amount in a climbing quote; do not add every listed product into one subtotal. |
What this means for your party
Two adults: TZS 357,700 (≈ US$136) for one entry period (Per person per 24 hours). Two adults and two children aged ten: TZS 459,900 (≈ US$174) for that same entry period.
Non-resident · Family example valid 1 Jul 2026 to 30 Jun 2027. Tax treatment must be confirmed. They exclude vehicle charges, accommodation, activities, transfers and any overnight or concession fee.
How to arrange payment
- Follow the official TANAPA reservation and Government Electronic Payment Gateway (GePG) instructions. The tariff page describes cards, mobile money and operator bank-transfer routes.
- Bring the identity and permit evidence for the selected visitor category. Confirm the reservation, payment reference and actual park permit before travel.
Build it into your route
Request a complete quote for the actual route and number of mountain days. Compare huts, campsites, rescue, guides and porters rather than multiplying entry alone.
Ask for the actual entry, vehicle and overnight permit breakdown for your dates. A confirmation-required extra is neither zero nor included.
Explore Kilimanjaro National Park. Compare Tanzania park fees and the wider safari budget. Your written proposal confirms the actual inclusions.
Sources, dates and updates
Last checked: 20 October 2026. Published references are not a live ticket quotation. Use the stated dates, visitor categories and charging units; confirm the final payable charges for your route.
- TANAPA live dated tariff records. Each record has its own dates: seasonal adult entry records generally 16 May 2026–14 March 2027; annual records generally 1 July 2026–30 June 2027. Check the individual category and product. The dated records publish TZS amounts without a tax field. The webpage’s generic VAT-inclusive statement conflicts with the historical linked booklet’s VAT-exclusive statement; the dated records do not resolve this. Tax is unconfirmed, and no 18% addition or currency conversion is applied. The static header still refers to 2023/24.
- TANAPA 2023/24 tariff booklet. 1 July 2023–30 June 2024; historical reference only. Used to identify historical age definitions and charging units, not to extend old USD rates into current or future dates. Its VAT-exclusive statement differs from the current page.

