Your Africa, beautifully told. Tailor-made East African journeys

Travel guide / Kenya

Samburu park fees

Samburu County’s enacted 2025 Finance Act lists non-resident entry at USD 85 for adults and USD 50 for children, resident entry at KES 1,600 for adults and KES 800 for children or students, and a citizen charge of KES 1,000. Confirm visitor eligibility and ticket terms before travel.

In this guide
01 /

Published 2025 county schedule · confirm ticket terms

Visitor and charging unitAdult / eligible visitorChild / eligible visitor
Non-resident
Published entrance amount; ticket duration not stated
2025 schedule in enacted Act · Current application unconfirmed
USD 85
Not defined in checked tariff
USD 50
Not defined in checked tariff
Resident
Published entrance amount; ticket duration not stated
2025 schedule in enacted Act · Current application unconfirmed
KES 1,600
Not defined in checked tariff
KES 800
Not defined in checked tariff
Citizen
Published entrance amount; ticket duration not stated
2025 schedule in enacted Act · Current application unconfirmed
KES 1,000
Not defined in checked tariff
Confirm with the authority
Not defined in checked tariff

Source: Samburu County Government · checked 20 October 2026. Published references are not a live ticket quotation. Use the stated dates, visitor categories and charging units; confirm the final payable charges for your route.

  • The 2025 Act lists a citizen charge of KES 1,000, replacing the older 2023 Act’s KES 1,600 row. No separate citizen child rate is stated.
  • The county’s checked 2026 Finance Bill page is labelled Draft. It is not used as an enacted replacement; confirm any later enacted tariff and the final gate charge.
  • Resident eligibility, numeric age bands, tax and ticket duration remain unresolved. No missing amount is treated as zero.
02 /

Who pays, and for how long

  • The 2025 schedule gives no numeric adult or child age band, child-free threshold or reserve ticket duration. The citizen row has no separate adult or child split. Confirm these details before calculating a family total.
  • Samburu National Reserve is separate from Buffalo Springs and Shaba in Isiolo County. Do not assume one admission covers all three.
03 /

Activities, extras and inclusions

Charge or activityPublished amountScope and inclusions
Vehicle and camping chargesConfirm with the authorityThe 2025 Act lists separate vehicle and camping charges, but does not state a complete charging duration for these rows. Confirm the applicable category, unit and ticket terms.
04 /

How to arrange payment

  • The Act requires an authorised payment channel and an official county receipt. Confirm current visitor payment methods and identification with the reserve.
05 /

Build it into your route

Identify which reserve each camp and game drive uses. Arrange separate authority confirmation where your itinerary crosses into another reserve.

Ask for the current adult, child, vehicle and camping tariff in writing, including ticket validity and any tax.

Explore Samburu National Reserve. Compare Kenya park fees and the wider safari budget. Your written proposal confirms the actual inclusions.

06 /

Sources, dates and updates

Last checked: 20 October 2026. Published references are not a live ticket quotation. Use the stated dates, visitor categories and charging units; confirm the final payable charges for your route.

  • Samburu County Finance Act 2025 No. 4. Gazette publication 22 December 2025; schedule labelled 2025. Printed page 5 (PDF page 6) lists citizen KES 1,000. Numeric ages, resident eligibility and ticket duration are not defined in the reserve schedule.
  • Samburu County Finance Bill 2026 — Draft. County download page dated 9 September 2026; explicitly Draft. Draft status on the checked page is not evidence of an enacted replacement or a completed search of all later legislation.
Bring it into the conversation

Bring your dates, route and travellers. We will help you understand the complete journey cost.

Add this idea to your brief

A few things worth knowing

Good questions.
Straight answers.

The details matter. Bring anything else into your planning conversation.

How much are Samburu National Reserve fees?

USD 85 · Non-resident · Published entrance amount; ticket duration not stated · 2025 schedule in enacted Act · Current application unconfirmed. Check the visitor category, charging unit and dates in the table above.

Are children charged the same as adults?

Non-resident: USD 50; Not defined in checked tariff.

What does the Samburu National Reserve ticket cover?

The 2025 schedule gives no numeric adult or child age band, child-free threshold or reserve ticket duration. The citizen row has no separate adult or child split. Confirm these details before calculating a family total. Samburu National Reserve is separate from Buffalo Springs and Shaba in Isiolo County. Do not assume one admission covers all three.